Weather Station Issues

I am still struggling with my weather station.   For whatever reason, the temperature dips far too low at night, and perhaps a little too high during the day.  However, this only happens sometimes.

I am working on parsing through the data to see if I can find a trend.  For example, on June 25, 2017, things were working well, when I compare the data to what would be reasonable for June in New Mexico:

However, just one day earlier, the temperature mysteriously drops into the upper 20’s:

I thought that perhaps the weather station was losing units, but 30.4 C = 86.7 F, which is discontinuity as well, even if it is more believable.  Without the passage of a really strong warm front, the temperature wouldn’t rise that quickly at night.

I did notice that during the day, EasyWX (software provided with the weather station) had no data during this jump, versus the good data coverage on the 25th.  I don’t remember if I was resetting the station at this time.  Perhaps I was, and that was the reason for the poor data.

It seems to happen frequently, so I will investigate this matter some more over the remainder of the summer.

Thank you for reading my post.

About highplainschasing

This blog is about my tales in storm chasing. My name is Seth Price and I am an instrumentation instructor at New Mexico Tech. My amateur radio call sign is N3MRA.
This entry was posted in Local WX, Weather Station and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

