NWS Newsletter – Sterling, VA

Once a quarter, the Sterling, VA, office of the National Weather Service (NWS) publishes and distributes a newsletter to all of its local Skywarn Spotters.  It is a really neat idea.  My father always sends me an electronic copy, and I enjoy reading about the weather events where I grew up.

This past issue (Spring 2017) contained an article congratulating Carroll County, MD, as they have been declared “Storm Ready.”  As a kid, I lived south of Westminster, MD, the county seat of Carroll County, and I remember a tornado tore up some trees and the sign to the church I attended.

There was also an article about the severe weather outbreak in April.  This event produced several tornadoes and quite a bit of wind damage.  Some of the straight-line wind damage affected towns that were near where I lived, such as Colonial Beach, VA, and Dahlgren, VA.

I am in the process of reading some Stirling Colgate papers, so perhaps I will report on those next week.

Thank you for reading my post.

About highplainschasing

This blog is about my tales in storm chasing. My name is Seth Price and I am an instrumentation instructor at New Mexico Tech. My amateur radio call sign is N3MRA.
This entry was posted in Commentary and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

