Port Royal, VA Storm

Typically, I post about articles or books that I have been reading on Thursdays.  However, a tornado-warned storm just passed near my home town in Virginia.

The radar image from Sterling, VA, shows the strong, messy storm, which had a small hook echo in the front for a few minutes.  The real problem is the tight couplet near Port Royal, VA, as shown in the Storm Relative Velocity signature.  The red is where the wind is blowing away from the radar site, and the green is where it is blowing towards the radar site.

My high school and college friend, Matt Eak, was near the storm and took some great photos of the shelf cloud as it passed over.  He said the winds went from calm and still to gusting strong in a few seconds.

He also took several photos of the shelf cloud as it passed overhead:

My parents live north of this storm, and the report from my father was “Lots of lightning and 0.7 inches of rain, but no tornado here.”

Thank you again, Matt, for the photos and video! Thank you again, Dad, for the updates and report!

About highplainschasing

This blog is about my tales in storm chasing. My name is Seth Price and I am an instrumentation instructor at New Mexico Tech. My amateur radio call sign is N3MRA.
This entry was posted in Photography, Radar Imagery, Severe Weather and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

