Oklahoma City, OK, to Rio Rancho, NM

Today is our final travel day on our annual Christmas road trip.

The weather turned cold very quickly yesterday along the I-44 corridor.  I went for a jog yesterday morning in shorts and a short sleeve shirt, and was slightly cold, before sunrise.  By lunchtime, I was pumping gas in a winter coat, and was really cold.

This morning, the weather over Oklahoma City is sunny, cold and windy.  I did not go for a jog this morning!  I took a photo from my hotel window, which was dirty, and didn’t provide much of a view.  You can see the bright sunshine, however.

The National Weather Service (NWS) offices show sunny to partly cloudy skies, cold temperatures and breezy conditions along our route today.  There is a chance of snow at some of the higher elevations (Clines Corners, NM) as a snow storm drops south from Colorado.  The NWS in Albuquerque has issued several Winter Storm Watches for conditions this evening and through the next few days.  The Watches and Warnings Graphic below shows the threat area, which includes areas along our route.

The satellite imagery shows some clouds over our skies and through Oklahoma, but clearing as we head west.  For what it’s worth, the skies are already clearer here in Oklahoma than this image indicates.

The Storm Prediction Center (SPC) Mesoscale Analysis Graphics show the cold temperatures and clearing skies over our route today.  There may be another boundary passing through the western part of Oklahoma, just east of the Texas Panhandle, as there is a strong wind shift in this area.

 

 

I am having problems loading the NAM charts this morning, but I can see that there will be a back door cold front pushing into eastern New Mexico at the 850 mb level.  I didn’t get a chance to take a screen shot before it crashed.

The skies will be partly clear today.  I’ll have to remember where I put my sunglasses, as I haven’t needed them for several days.  I am a little concerned about the snow that will be possible along our route this afternoon.  Currently, the SPC Critical Thickness Chart shows most of the critical thickness contours above I-40, but that may change throughout the day.

Thank you for reading my post.

Sources:
Forecast Information:  Weather.gov
Satellite Data:  NASA – Earth Science Office
Mesosacle Analysis Graphics, RAP Model Data:  Storm Prediction Center
NAM Model Data:  Unisys Weather

About highplainschasing

This blog is about my tales in storm chasing. My name is Seth Price and I am an instrumentation instructor at New Mexico Tech. My amateur radio call sign is N3MRA.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Photography, Practicing Concepts, Predictions, Radar Imagery, Satellite Imagery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

