Satellite Image of the Week: #2

This week’s satellite images were taken over several days. I normally try to limit myself to one satellite image a week, but this storm warranted several photos, and I’m sure you’ll agree.

The first image was taken in the open Atlantic. You can easily see the center of circulation, and you can also see the boundary between open cell convection and closed cell convection, with the open cells to the south and the closed cells to the north.

This storm was so massive, I had to take a second image to capture the eastern edge of it. This image shows convergence between the storm and a land breeze, which is why the clouds are thicker near the coastline.

Finally, I had to follow up on this storm a few days later, when the storm had matured considerably:

Thank you for reading this post!

Satellite Imagery comes from: NASA MSFC Earth Sciences Office

About highplainschasing

This blog is about my tales in storm chasing. My name is Seth Price and I am an instrumentation instructor at New Mexico Tech. My amateur radio call sign is N3MRA.
This entry was posted in Practicing Concepts, Satellite Imagery and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

