Texas Weather: 8/3/15

Is is warm and humid this morning in Austin, TX, during National Instruments (NI) Week. I attend this conference most years, and this year is a little cooler and less humid than in past years, if my memory serves me.

The visible satellite imagery shows clear skies over the bulk of Texas. I think it is neat that the skies are so clear; you can see the outline of the Edwards Plateau through central Texas. There are some clouds extending through the southern Texas Panhandle into west Texas. There are a few boundaries present near these clouds.

Screenshot_2015-08-03-10-29-52

The water vapor satellite imagery shows a plume of moisture extending from the eastern Pacific Ocean across northern Mexico and into the Texas Panhandle and across Northern Texas.

Screenshot_2015-08-03-11-32-24

The 12Z upper air sounding from Fort Worth, TX, shows low Convective Available Potential Energy (CAPE), and a surface dewpoint of 59 F.

Screenshot_2015-08-03-12-09-06

The 12Z upper air sounding from Midland/Odessa, TX, shows mid-level moisture that was not present in the Fort Worth,TX, sounding. Notice the lower dewpoint depressions from 750 mb to 475 mb. At the surface, however, the dewpoint is the same as it was in Fort Worth. The CAPE was still low.

Screenshot_2015-08-03-11-59-29

I am running low on battery, and am at lunch at NI Week, so I will not run a full prediction. I do wonder how the midlevel moisture will advect. I think it will go north of Austin, heading northeast. I expect cloud cover to increase, leading to perhaps an afternoon shower or two along this boundary. I am not, however, expecting strong storms today, given the low CAPE, and low shear (not shown).

Thank you for reading my forecast.

The upper air soundings and mesoscale analysis plots are from the Storm Prediction Center website.
The forecasted upper air soundings are from TwisterData.com.
The surface observation and upper level charts are from Unisys Weather.
The satellite data is from NASA – MSFC

About highplainschasing

This blog is about my tales in storm chasing. My name is Seth Price and I am an instrumentation instructor at New Mexico Tech. My amateur radio call sign is N3MRA.
This entry was posted in Local WX, Practicing Concepts, Predictions, Satellite Imagery and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

