Mississippi Weather: 8/2/15

Yesterday evening was warmer than the evening before, but it was less humid and still very pleasant. I took a walk around a rest area and rode with the windows down for part of our drive from Kingsport, TN, to Jackson, MS.

This morning is warm and still. There are no clouds in the sky that I can see, though there is some haze.

Unfortunately, I cannot seem to get the visible satellite imagery to load, so I will be skipping satellite analysis today.

The 12Z upper air sounding from Jackson, TN, shows a dry atmosphere above 750 mb. Even though the surface dewpoint was 65 F, there is only 0.99 inches of precipitable water present in the column today. There is also a large radiational inversion present from the surface until 950 mb or so.

The Storm Prediction Center (SPC) Mesoscale Surface Analysis map shows no strong wind shifts and no major convection on radar this morning. The surface dewpoints are in the mid 60s across the entire state, and at first glance, I see no significant boundaries.

I will not do a full forecast today; I have three meteorology assignments due over the next three days and am focusing my time in the hotels on finishing these assignments.

Thank you for reading my forecast.

The upper air soundings and mesoscale analysis plots are from the Storm Prediction Center website.
The forecasted upper air soundings are from TwisterData.com.
The surface observation and upper level charts are from Unisys Weather.
The satellite data is from NASA – MSFC

About highplainschasing

This blog is about my tales in storm chasing. My name is Seth Price and I am an instrumentation instructor at New Mexico Tech. My amateur radio call sign is N3MRA.
This entry was posted in Local WX, Practicing Concepts, Predictions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

