Severe Weather Today: 5/28/15

I wasn’t too far off yesterday (108 miles), as there was a tornado near Canadian, TX, and I said I would have chased west of Childress, TX. 108 miles would have busted, but hopefully I would have been paying closer attention if I was actually chasing versus sitting in my living room.

I should also take this time to remind my readership that I am not predicting where severe weather will happen; I am merely predicting where I expect chase-able storms. There was plenty of severe weather yesterday, and that occurs at more than a pinpoint on the map. I am saying where I would target to see the most predictable and photogenic storms.

The Storm Prediction Center (SPC) has upgraded a Slight Risk to an Enhanced Risk for severe weather this afternoon across the southern Great Plains.

Associated with the Enhanced Risk is a 5% Tornado Threat ring.

Even with this, I am not going to do a full prediction today as I have an announcement to make, as well as some more work to do.

I have officially retired the 2002 Chevrolet Malibu from storm chase service (I will use it around town), and have replaced my storm chasing vehicle with this 2006 Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptor P71!

I bought it a few days ago and have been driving it to make sure that it functions properly. Now I need to wire it up for radio equipment. The larger engine will require more gasoline (24 mpg on the highway, versus 29 mpg with the Malibu), but there is a lot more room in this car. Also, with a larger alternator, perhaps I won’t run into some of the power issues I had with the Malibu.

Anyway, there it is. I’ll try to have it at least partially functional for next week.

The Severe Weather Outlook is from the Storm Prediction Center website.
The satellite imagery is from the NOAA Satellite and Information Service.
The surface observation and upper level charts are from Unisys Weather.

About highplainschasing

This blog is about my tales in storm chasing. My name is Seth Price and I am an instrumentation instructor at New Mexico Tech. My amateur radio call sign is N3MRA.
This entry was posted in Chase Crew, Commentary and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

